Indian Home Minister Rajnath Singh lighting the lamp at the launch of the ‘Tourist Visa on Arrival enabled by Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA)’, in New Delhi, Nov. 27. Minister of State for Culture (Independent Charge), Tourism (Independent Charge) and Civil Aviation, Mahesh Sharma and Home Secretary Anil Goswami are also seen. (Manvender Vashist | PTI)

[divider type=”thin”]

The Indian government has launched a new tourist visa program that might make traveling to India a whole lot easier. A Siliconeer report.

[divider type=”thin”]

India’s Home Minister Rajnath Singh, along with Dr. Mahesh Sharma, Minister of State (Independent Charge), Tourism & Culture and Minister of State for Civil Aviation launched the Tourist Visa on Arrival (TVoA) enabled with Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA) Scheme in New Delhi, Dec. 1.

The facility will be available at nine international airports in the country namely Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata, Hyderabad, Bengaluru, Thiruvananthapuram, Kochi and Goa.

The TVoA enabled with ETA Scheme will facilitate nationals of 43 countries including USA, Australia, Brazil, Cambodia, Cook Islands, Djibouti, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, Finland, Germany, Indonesia, Israel, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Kingdom of Tongo, Laos, Luxembourg, Mauritius, Mexico, Myanmar, New Zealand, Niue, Norway, Oman, Palestine, Papua & New Guinea, Philippines, Republic of Kiribati, Republic of Korea (i.e. South Korea), Republic of Marshall Islands, Republic of Nauru, Republic of Palau, Russia, Samoa, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Thailand, Tuvalu, UAE, Ukraine, Vietnam and Vanuatu.

Launching the facility, Singh said that India has a unique advantage in tourism sector owing to its geographical location. He also assured that the ministry would ensure a safe and secure environment for visiting foreign tourists.

The implementation of TVoA enabled with ETA will send a clear and powerful message that India is serious in making travel to the country easy.

The information and instructions for the TVoA enabled with ETA is available on the link: